The Vinyl Record Cuffs

I first made cuffs from vinyl records in 2009, out of pure curiosity and for the sake of experimenting.

They’ve come a long way since then. And I know a lot of people love the cuffs! I haven’t been actively making new ones or coming up with new ideas until now!

A WORKROOM REVELATION

I think a lot of people are curious as to how I cut the records. I cut my records by hand, with this humble OLFA cutter:

It’s really a matter of scoring on the material, cut a groove at least halfway through and snapping off the pieces along the cut groove. The curves that I cut are with this cutter too, the curves being the edge of the record itself.

The forming of the cuff is really quite simple too. For my jig, it’s usually something cylindrical I can find at home. Spray cans, ketchup bottles, drinking glasses, water bottles, I’ve tried them all. To soften the record, any conventional oven works fine. Once it’s pliable, with gloves on, I just form the piece around the jig.

NEW jig

I really wanted to experiment the cuffs in another shape, so I went to look for a jig in the ceramics department. And I found this triangular vase:

Definitely makes for an interesting shape! I should have brought my measuring tape with me, but I was pretty confident that this was wrist-size.

Tried out 2 cuffs with the vase.

Love these pieces! I thought the fit on the wrist might be a little weird, but they actually look pretty awesome.

SCRAP PIECE, NEW IDEA

I’ve cut up so many records and have left behind some really weird pieces of scraps. Love utilising these scrap pieces. They sometimes produce really interesting pieces.

This is a cylindrical cuff with a really interesting and versatile shape!

With some more fine-tuning, this will make a fabulous piece.

2 responses to “The Vinyl Record Cuffs

  1. instagram online business
    Hello Dear, are you truly visiting this web page regularly,
    if so afterward you will without doubt take good knowledge.

  2. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very
    often inside case you shield this increase.

Leave a Reply

