The Clear Acrylic Cuff

I bought a sheet of acrylic a while ago for experiment’s sake. I’ve cut up god-knows-how-many vinyl records, so I thought it’d be nice to switch to acrylic for a change.

And anyways, ever since I laid eyes on the awesome chunky clear jewellery in Michael Kors’ Spring 2010 ready-to-wear collection, I have been DYING to experiment with making a transparent cuff. Yes, I know it’s a little copycat, but hey, there is technically not much ‘design’ in a basic rectangle to form a cuff.

After I laid eyes on these, I had the images permanently seared into my cornea. So here goes my own version:

This is the first one I experimented with. Just a very basic piece; fits a little loose, so the silhouette is chunky. Then I experimented with a second piece:

I reduced the width a little, the fit is the same, but I added a little more interest by etching lines onto the surface.

I’m still trying to figure out a way to make it perfect because the opening of the cuff is still a little wonky to me. But as of now, I’m just having fun wearing them out!

7 responses to “The Clear Acrylic Cuff

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Clear Acrylic Cuff « theKANG: Craftster · Designer -- Topsy.com

  2. Hi,
    I can’t believe I came across this tonight! I TOO saw the same bracelet by Michael Kors’ , And I also had it in my brain ever since. I have spent days on the computer trying to find both a mold or just clear bangle. I had almost given up tonight when I came across you. This is Excatly the cuff I was look for. Please, Please share your knowledge, I would love to try and make one.

    Thanks so much
    Sherrrie

  3. Very cool. Just stumpled upon your blog with a completed unrelated search term. “proper loop torso structure” (for 3D modeling)/ But I make jewelry so I had to take a look when i saw some of your chainmail images pop up. You’re blog is fun to look through.

  4. looks great 🙂 what material did you use?

  5. Love the bangle, how did you make it? I want one too 🙂

  6. How do I purchase the cuff

  7. Tieisa javkson

    Where did you get the cuff bangle

Leave a Reply

